Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (#6)

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. This meme highlights some of the books whose releases bloggers are most anticipating this year.

The book whose release I am most excited for this week is...

Author: Daniel Waters
Release Date: October 16th, 2012
Living in the aftermath of the Event means that seeing the dead is now a part of life, but Veronica wishes that the ghosts would just move on. Instead, the ghosts aren’t disappearing—they’re gaining power. When Veronica and her friend, Kirk, decide to investigate why, they stumble upon a more sinister plot than they ever could have imagined. One of Veronica’s high school teachers is crippled by the fact that his dead daughter has never returned as a ghost, and he’s haunted by the possibility that she’s waiting to reappear within a fresh body. Veronica seems like the perfect host. And even if he’s wrong, what’s the harm in creating one more ghost? From critically acclaimed Generation Dead author Daniel Waters, comes a delectably creepy and suspenseful thriller. Break My Heart 1,000 Times will leave readers with the chills. Or is that a ghost reading over the page?
I'll be the first to admit that I am terrified of horror movies, but I love a deliciously well-written horror story - I know, it makes no sense, but somehow imagining horrors are a lot less scary than seeing them for some reason. Break My Heart 1,000 Times has an alluring (and terrifying) cover that is not only eye-catching due to the bold title print, but also because of the haunting tally marks that scourge the background. Its synopsis only goes to further make me shiver in my seat as this novel  not only includes ghosts, investigations, and sinister plots, but murder as well. I'm sitting on the edge of my seat just thinking about how amazing this story has the potential to be and I am already counting down the days till October 16th! :) 


Extra Mention! I thought I'd calm your quaking nerves with a fun and interesting story, also about ghosts, but on the more bright side of these paranormal creatures! While I'm not anticipating the release of this novel as much as Break My Heart 1,000 Times (which reminds me, isn't that title gorgeous? It just makes me more curious about the story!), I'm still anticipating the enjoyment that this novel is sure to bring!

Title: The Dead Girls Detective Agency 
Author: Suzy Cox 
Release Date: September 18th, 2012
When Charlotte comes to after being pushed onto the subway tracks, she is informed by a group of teenage girls that she is dead…they all are. Meet the Dead Girls Detective Agency. With the support of these dynamic girls—including fashionable Lorna, who can’t wait to find out if the devil actually wears Prada, and nerdy Nancy, who insists on staying in limbo to help out other girls—Charlotte follows leads and tracks down clues to solve her own murder. With plenty of juicy mysteries and some pretty cute guys, readers are sure to fall in love with this fun and suspenseful page-turner! Fans of Meg Cabot, Sara Shepard, and Ally Carter will delight in this exciting new paperback original.
Well, what are you waiting on this Wednesday? ;) While you're here, don't forget to stop by and enter my international giveaway for a chance to win a pre-ordered copy of a book of your choice! You can enter here. Good Luck! 

33 comments:

  1. Wow, great choices - I've never heard of these books, but they both sound really good, especially Break My Heart 1,000 Times :D Adding them to my TBR list.

    My WoW post: http://goo.gl/9Cc6M

    Have a great day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Beatriz! I'm excited about their release for sure as well! :D

      Delete
  2. I haven't heard of these books but the first one sounds pretty scary. I don't read as many ghost books but I should read some more, I always end up liking them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, so do I! I'm really looking forward to it, so I can't wait for its release!(:

      Delete
  3. This is the first I've seen of Break My Heart a 1000 times. It sounds amazing. I'm nervous for Veronica because of her crazy sounding former high school teacher.

    I just got approved for Dead Girls Detective Agency so I hope it's good. It sounds funny. Great picks Keertana! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, so am I! I barely know her and I'm already worried about what this novel can bring, so I'm excited to read it.

      Yay, I'm so glad you got approved! I didn't know it was up, so I've just requested it, but Edelweiss hasn't approved me for anything before, so we'll see if they do this time! ;) I can't wait to see what you think of it Rachel! :D

      Delete
  4. I haven't heard of either of these books. They look great.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Meghan! I'm definitely looking forward to them!(:

      Delete
  5. Ohhh these definitely sound interesting. I haven't heard of them before! Thanks for sharing :D
    Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Anna! I'm glad you got to hear about some new books and I'm excited for their release! :D

      Delete
  6. Both of those sound really awesome! Especially Break My Heart 1000 times!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Amy! Break My Heart 1000 Times sounds like a real thriller so I'm looking forward to reading it! :)

      Delete
  7. I'm really looking forward to Break My Heart 1,000 Times too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay, I'm glad to hear it Kay! Hopefully some ARCs will be up soon - I can't wait!

      Delete
  8. Two fantastic choices, Keertena! :)

    I'm particularly interested by the Daniel Water's novel. I've heard about some of his other works and desperately want to read them!

    Whilst I find myself more scared by reading a book, I tend to laugh at horror, unless it's suspense. That makes me jump. It's my imagination that runs wild with me.

    Ahhhh, that was up on Edelwiess, but I kept getting declined! :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Olivia! :) I'm excited to read Daniel Water's novel as well although I haven't heard or read any of this other books. I'm excited to read some horror, especially as I don't read too much of it, so I hope it's good.

      Yes, I just saw it on Edelweiss! I've never been accepted for anything by them, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed for this one!

      Delete
  9. Break My Heart 1,000 Times sounds fantastic and it's new to me!

    - Jessica @ Book Sake

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad you found out about a new book Jessica!(:

      Delete
  10. There is nothing I love more than a deliciously creepy ghost story! I mean it, the really good ones are rare, but every so often I discover a new one and I get insanely happy about it. I think this one seems very promising! The only thing I don't really like is the cover - it's too dystopian-looking.
    Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Maja! I love scary stories as well and although they're rare, I have high hopes for this one!(: I thought the cover was rather dystopian-looking as well, but I'm still excited about it! ;)

      Delete
  11. oooohm it sounds interesting :D Although the cover's a bit out there ;D Other than that, I hope you an I both get to pick it up when it comes out!!! :D Thanks for sharing hun! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks ShreShre! I can't wait for its release either!(:

      Delete
  12. I love being spooked out of my skin! Funnily enough, books can end up creeping me out more than movies - my imagination tends to run a little wild. ;) And it probably doesn't help that most of my reading is done at night! Break My Heart 1000 Times sounds fantastic! I've been looking forward to it for a while and love the cover. I saw that Suzy Cox book on Edelweiss and thought is sounds like a lot of fun! I'm looking forward to reading that one too. Great picks, Keertana! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I read most of my books at night too, so I'm sure reading horror stories can be scary. I can't wait for this one though so I'm eager to get my hands on it. I can't wait to see what you think of Cox's book Sam - I hope its every bit as fun as promised! :D

      Delete
  13. Break My Heart 1000 Times just sounds amazing! I have the first two books of the Generation Dead series waiting to be read, and I'm going to just add this one onto the list as well. I love how creepy it sounds!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't heard of the Generation Dead series, but I'll be interested to see what you think about it Hollie! I love scary books, so I can't wait!(:

      Delete
  14. I haven't heard of either books but they sound great!! I will have to check them out :)

    Thanks for stopping by my WOW :) I am a new follower!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Sarah!(: I can't wait to see what you think of these ones when they release! :)

      Delete
  15. I have yet to be totally creeped out by a book, so I'm hoping that Break My Heart 1,000 Times will be the first to creep me out!! ;) I also like a good scary book, which I hope will be an aspect of that book. The Dead Girls Detective Agency sounds like a cute ghost story- it kind of reminds of The Catastrophic History of You and Me, which I really loved. I'll definitely be adding that one to my TBR!

    Fabulous picks Keertana! <3

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It would be great if this would be the first book to creep you out! I'm excited to read it and Cox's novel definitely sounds like fun. I have yet to get to The Catastrophic History of You and Me, but I want to check it out soon, especially because of your high recommendation! I can't wait to read it! :D

      Delete
  16. I LOVE scary books and this one definitely sounds good. IT SOUNDS SO CREEPY!!!! :D

    Julia @ That Hapa Chick

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I'm so excited for its release Julia! :)

      Delete
  17. Things You Need To Know About Pure Hoodia Gordonii The rats that were injected with P57 ate less than the rats in the placebo group. Only buy from a company that clearly displays a CITES certificate on its website. Since this plant is not commonly found anywhere, its supply is limited. There are lots of people who are being indulged with delicious foods that are made available to us.

    ReplyDelete

I love hearing from my readers and I read, reply, and appreciate every one of the comments I receive!(: If you're a fellow blogger, please leave a link to your blog - I'd love to drop by!

Unfortunately, this is now an award-free blog. I simply do not have the time to respond and forward on the award, but I truly appreciate the nomination regardless.